OWS XII: At the Barricades, Are You Kidding Me?

I was struck by a cop with a truncheon when I was 10 years old, he was trying to make a point.  A billy club, if you like, or a baton as they call it now.  Been stood up and searched by the constables since then, once upon a time I was hoisted onto the hood of a car and threatened.  But forty years later, there I was, tonight, across from Foley Square, trying to separate a metal barricade along with a slender young woman, and the cops converged.  I held the barricades open while they screamed at me, and I held them open when the shaved-head plains-clothes cop brought his baton to bear, first on my balls, then on my forearm.  The second stage hurt more than the first.  He actually opened a wound with his repeated blows.  I write this just to bear witness.  I am sorry that it’s only my own pain that I can record.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “OWS XII: At the Barricades, Are You Kidding Me?

  1. Paul Wolman

    Welcome to the “conversation” between the intelligentsia and the gendarmerie. Don’t you know enough yet, Jim, you Narodnik, to leave the street action to the 84-year-old retired schoolteachers, like we do in Seattle? Seriously, take care of the bruises, and wait till the swelling goes down before you use that … forearm. –Paul

  2. Yikes, Paul, lots of painkillers. But speaking of 84 year olds, it’s more than 40 years since I was 10. That’s an important correction, I ain’t 50 anymore.

Leave a Reply

